No Other Gospel

We need to live the Gospel, preach the Gospel, and remind ourselves of the Gospel daily.  The Gospel is simple: God achieved grace for you through the work of Jesus on the cross, which you accept by faith.

In more detail: God created everything (Genesis 1-2); but humans are sinful and our sin pushes God back and is destroying this world (Genesis 3-Malachi 4), but God has been pursuing us since the first sin to restore the relationship (Genesis 3:9ff. & Gen. 12, 15, 18-22, Exodus 1-20, etc.), but we keep pushing back; and so God became a man, lived perfectly (Matthew, Mark, Luke, John), and was a sin offering for us on the cross paying the penalty we deserved (1 John 2:1ff. & Galatians 2:20), which provides grace by the work of Christ all the way to death (2 Cor. 5:17)…and then He was raised, redeeming those who trust in Him (end of each Gospel and 1 Cor. 15, Phil 2:5-11) and one day He will fully restore all creation (Rev. 21-22).

We often start with grace and continue with law; which is an affront to God (which I will talk about Sunday).  But we are called to start with grace achieved by Jesus Christ’s work leading up to and on the cross, and we are called to continue with grace.

When you sin, preach grace to yourself!!! The following is a help in how to live the Gospel…

The following is from Center Church by Timothy Keller[1]

Religion Gospel
“I obey; therefore I’m accepted.” “I’m accepted; therefore I obey.”
“Motivation is based on fear and insecurity.” “Motivation is based on grateful joy.”
“I obey God in order to get things from God.” “I obey God to get God—to delight and resemble him.”
“When circumstances in my life go wrong, I am angry at God or myself, since I believe, like Job’s friends, that anyone who is good deserves a comfortable life.” “When circumstances in my life go wrong, I struggle, but I know that while God may allow this for my training, he will exercise his fatherly love within my trial.”
“When I am criticized, I am furious or devastated because it is essential for me to think of myself as a “good person.” Threats to that self-image must be destroyed at all costs.” “When I am criticized, I struggle, but it is not essential for me to think of myself as a “good person.” My identity is not built on my performance but on God’s love for me in Christ.”

[1] Timothy Keller, Center Church (Zondervan; Grand Rapids, 2012).  65.

GODSPEED

Leave a Reply

