How can you know you are saved?

The following is the intro to my sermon this Sunday, September 30th, 2012

 

How can you be sure you’re saved?

 

When I was a Jr. High Youth Pastor…each week it seemed like we had someone new accept Christ as Savior…they would be overcome with the joy of the Lord and say that they felt like a weight had been lifted off their shoulders…

And then after a time…I began to notice many of the same students would have a look of consternation on their face…and begin to struggle…and eventually fall away…

There was one student in particular…he accepted Christ…come for 2-3 weeks… then not come for 2-3 weeks…then come back…accept Christ again…and the cycle continued for about a year…I took he and two other students to Taco Bell…and asked what was going on?

He said, “I accepted Christ…felt over joyed…come home from youth group…and am reminded of reality…my parents are getting divorced…my dad drinks…my mom yells…my sister is schizophrenic and suicidal…I hate my life…so I drop out of youth group…but can’t handle it any more…some I come back…accept Christ again…am overjoyed…go home…and reality hits me…”

“I feel like if God is real…then shouldn’t my prayers make a difference…shouldn’t my parent’s change…shouldn’t my sister change? And since they don’t…I question my salvation…I question Christianity…I question if God is real…”

This is an extreme situation…but I believe it is the common experience of many in our culture…what do you say to someone in this situation?

         How do you re-assure them?

         How can you encourage them?

         Perhaps you are right where this person was at?

         You doubt your own salvation …God…and the Bible…

         How can you be sure you’re saved?

 

Join us Sunday September 30th or listen on-line Oct. 1st.

 

GODSPEED

      

        And what difference should it make?

Leave a Reply

